Archinect
anchor

setting expectations as a first year architecture student

Hi so I am a 19 year old architecture student, I am currently in the first year of my architecture program and I am firing up the portfolio right now as I am wanting to intern at an architecture firm this summer preferably in Tokyo. I have a lot of confidence in myself but I also want to be level-headed and set reasonable expectations for myself. I would really appreciate some advice on applying for internships as I am a first year student and notice that most firms have 3rd year and above required for accepting interns. I wonder if anybody else got in as a first year.....

Dec 12, 20 11:30 am
pan5ury

I wouldn't rush it. I'd suggest you take the time to hone your skillset in various softwares like blender, maya, keyshot, lumion etc. because they will definitely come in handy later at school and will increase your production level and the quality of your work. 

It would make a lot more sense to try and get an internship after second year, especially because you will have about four semesters worth of work to put in there. Plus, it will be enough material for recruiters to know where you stand relatively better than applying straight out of first year. 

Dec 12, 20 12:35 pm  · 
2  · 
Akira

thanks for the advice, does it make any difference that I already have 1 year of experience at a firm? I also have joined like a couple of architecture competitions so I have quite a lot of material to put in

Dec 12, 20 12:53 pm  · 
 · 
thisisnotmyname

That makes a big difference. Our hiring for internships is always about the candidates' work experience level and skills regardless of where they are in their academic sequence. In our eyes, a person who interned every summer is a very strong candidate.

Dec 12, 20 2:59 pm  · 
 · 
Akira

Oh okay that is nice to hear, hopefully they will see pass the fact that I am only a first year

Dec 12, 20 3:44 pm  · 
 · 
pan5ury