Archinect
anchor

UK glass regs

karlpallister

OK, so I'm a NooB - shoot me for that bit first...

Not sure how many on this site are based in the UK, but if there are some UK based people, is anyone having trouble with the ban on combustibles on high buildings, including the laminate in glass? As if a tiny layer of laminate inside the glass panels could contribute to fire-loading...

For a glass-sided balcony, how are you getting around this? Monolithic glass (despite the fact it isn't as safe)? Alternative materials?

Something about glass - it's cheap as chips, but looks reasonably classy in my view - win win apart from the fire issue

Nov 27, 20 12:04 pm
Non Sequitur

"As if a tiny layer of laminate inside the glass panels could contribute to fire-loading"

Apparently, it does.

Nov 27, 20 12:17 pm  · 
 · 
Koww

afaik the ban has exceptions... e.g. office buildings not included

Nov 27, 20 3:46 pm  · 
 · 
apscoradiales

karlpallister ,

I'm not sure how a 1 metre high glass railing along the edge of the balcony could or would stop flames from leaping over it and around it and prevent the upper levels of floors from catching fire.

So what difference does it make whether that glass is simply tempered/laminated or just simply tempered? The flames, particularly if wind driven, would ignite the upper floor without any problems no matter what kind of glass you have.

Now, if the balcony is cantilevered, as they usually are, and the flames move vertically across, and above the glass railing, what's going to burn on the balcony as many of them are constructed out of reinforced concrete, ie., non-combustible construction? Chairs, BBQ's...?

If the balcony is made from combustible construction (wood, for example), then it'll catch fire no matter what the railing is made from; tempered glass, tempered/laminated glass, steel, aluminium, wood...).

Assuming all along that you already have a 2 hour (or whatever) fire separation between different levels at the floor line.