Archinect
anchor

Alternate Path Towards NCARB

newenglanddesign

Hello All:

This is a general question regarding licensing for you all.

I studied architecture (pre-professional) back in 2009. When the economy tanked with the housing market crash of 2008 (finally recovering in 2012), I decided to go into the trades.  Obtained a few certifications including a contractors license.  

Long story short, I applied to New York State Board of Architects for review to education and experience for initial licensure.  The board determined that 1 month of working for a NYS architect would suffice for beginning to take the ARE's.  

Currently in a masters program for construction management.  I believe that this will also meet the requirements (in leu of working for a NYS architect, however I need to pass this by the board).

My question for you all is this:

1.  It is now possible to obtain an NCARB certificate with 2x AXP after registering as an architect and practicing for 3 years. For those of you registered, would getting an M. Arch at this point be redundant considering I can register without one?

2.  After researching some M. Arch degrees, I would be looking at an additional 50-60K.  Almost insane considering you all state your starting salaries are fairly low considering the years of schooling.

Open to suggestions and comments.

Nov 18, 20 10:31 am
square.

there's a lot of information about this already on other threads, not to mention the best place to get specific information from the NY licensing board (dept of ed) is to contact them directly.

my one bit of advice is your intuition is correct- as this point in your career, it is absolutely not worth taking on 50k plus of debt. with an architect's salary, it will take you around a decade to pay off and severely hinder your ability to invest in other things.

Nov 18, 20 10:53 am  · 
 · 
t a z