Archinect
anchor

Firm Job Titles/Roles & Responsibilities

kizzy888

I have been working in the architecture/design industry for a little over 7 years. During this time I have worked for several U.S. firms in different capacities. I would like to get some professional feedback and information on firm job titles and the roles & responsibilities associated with those titles. Since I am considered junior staff (unlicensed) I am trying to understand if their is a standard career development/structure that other firms have used to mentor for growth. For example, the succession of positions. (Intern, Project Coordinator, Project Architect, Project Manager).

Sep 23, 20 7:21 pm

1 Featured Comment

All 9 Comments

SneakyPete

PM is not more important than PA, no matter how many people in the industry try and shovel that shit.

Sep 23, 20 7:31 pm  · 
8  · 
natematt

PA's often do what people think the PMs are doing anyway.... I think a lot of firms generally acknowledge this in their operational hierarchy's, yet PMs still tend to make more....

Sep 24, 20 11:59 am  · 
2  · 
Non Sequitur

working for 7 years yet still considered junior? There is something wrong here. 

Sep 23, 20 8:28 pm  · 
4  · 

search the forum, there have been similar threads. Bottom line, there isn’t anything definitive. It depends on the firm. 

Sep 23, 20 8:28 pm  · 
4  · 
Featured Comment
Archinect

Check out this series on architecture job titles: https://archinect.com/features/tag/1467627/job-titles

Sep 23, 20 8:39 pm  · 
4  · 
Jay1122

The link from archinect above really explains it well.