Archinect
anchor

Pursuing a MArch career change?

cepa

Hello all, I graduated in 2007 with a business undergraduate degree.  After 13 years and several entrepreneurial endeavors, some successful and some unsuccessful, I have always had in the back of my mind unresolved feelings about not pursuing an architectural career.  At age 40, I currently have a limited partnership role in an industry that I have limited passion and personal fulfillment in although I have financial stability and possible greater future prosperity.  I have always been passionate about architecture and have drawn floorplans for fun as a hobby and creative outlet.  A few years ago I started looking into 3 year MArch programs for students with unrelated undergraduate degrees.  My current state university, ASU, is revamping their program for next year to include an online option and also greater flexibility for the in-person program for working professionals.  I could continue performing my current work duties doing about 25-30 hours per week and make enough salary to get by while going to school if I choose to do that.  I would have to take out student loans which at current rates could be 50-60k total.  Should I consider getting into it this late in the game?  I suppose my end goal would be to work independently with homeowners on custom builds or even additions to start out.  I could even do it concurrently while still doing my current business endeavors.  Should I get my beak wet first by studying CAD or another design software and drafting to see how I enjoy that first?  What is the best way to jump into learning those things?  Thanks for any input... 

Sep 11, 20 12:45 pm
newbie.Phronesis