Archinect
anchor

Architects as Saviors?

riko_rokin

Hello All,

I am a M_Arch student in a New York architecture program facing internal struggle about my direction in the profession.

I have a bachelors in Environmental sustainability; I chose to exit the field as I became increasingly cynical about humanity's prospect to escape serious climate change related catastrophe. I did not want every day of my life to be burdened by thoughts of impotence and futility. Instead I prayed brighter more robust minds could tackle these issues "in my stead". I hoped to pivot towards a filed imbued with creative freedom, a place to express myself while remaining economically competitive in the short run.

Thus I choose architecture. A noble field where beauty and function are prized. I could develop a sensibility for aesthetics, investigate the richness of space, shadows, and volume. Perhaps one day I could retire to the wilderness where I could build a home, away from the chaos of civilization, designing and thinking in harmony with nature. Thinkers and designers that inspire this future include Thoreau, Aalto, Johnson, Montaigne, Heidegger, Wright, Yutang, etc. All of these minds at some point in their lives retired away from the masses to create in solitude--a dream. 

I very much respect the work of Peter Zumpthor, I am sympathetic to his quote: “I've said goodbye to the overworked notion that architecture has to save the world.” He lives in stillness and  zen-like solitude in the Swiss mountains. I want this. I need to leave the neurosis of New York and live in the countryside, perhaps in the northeast or southern Europe. This is my pursuit.