Archinect
anchor

Transition from Architecture to Construction Management

przemula

Recently I got hired in new office (lost my previous job due to Covid-19) as an architectural designer. I've worked in a field for about 2.5 years, I've been an interior / furniture designer before that, also for about 2 years. I know that there's a few architects turned construction managers on this forum, could you please elaborate, how did you managed to land a job as a CM? I used to work on construction every summer till I was like 21, that actually gave me an edge comparing to my college friends - they didn't know anything about how things are getting built. Then I was being sent to job sites often in my previous job, performing various tasks. My current boss said in interview that she'll do that too, but it's gonna be 2 months soon, and I've done nothing but CDs. I don't like being stuck in the office all day. I miss the smell of the concrete in the morning. Earlier this year, I've sent my resume and cover letter to every CM position available, unfortunately no luck, but also - this was in February, right before pandemic hit. Any tips on what can I do to make this transition possible? Any courses I can take? I was trying to emphasize my construction site "experience" and my enthusiasm towards it, but I understand, that they value more people with actual CM experience. Also, just FYI I'm foreign, moved to US in 2015 right after graduation (that's why it took me almost two years to land a job in architect's office). Any help would be appreciated. P

Aug 26, 20 8:21 pm
Jay1122

Another guy that gave up the profession. Congratulation, you made the right decision.

Aug 27, 20 5:06 pm  · 
 · 
Spiceman45

I've been doing CM for a bit now..I actually work for an architecture firm, but as a CM. Its great being able to be in my own world. I leave the office, not stuck on revit for 10 hours a day, learn business management skills, etc...I like to call it 'not turning toilets'.