Archinect
anchor

Love my profession but not the loneliness

out_in_space

Hi all, newbie here. 

I'm a 33yo single female practising arch in New Zealand. I love our profession and have since my teens, can't imagine myself doing anything else. But ever so often it feels like a lonely journey with most of my peers no longer practising, or have family, and the left over ones being somewhat competitive in nature to be good pals with. There are archy conferences where I am but most practitioners just seems sombre from the workload. It's hard to find others with the same passion or similar kind of design philosophy (I admire Kahn, Zumthor, Rick Joy, ancient ruins, minimal and elemental designs), so at the end of the day you can't help but feel like you're in your own. Does anyone else feel like that? Tips would be great thanks. 

Aug 24, 20 12:52 pm
proto

you referring to looking for a like-minded life partner? or are you lamenting sole proprietorship?

Aug 24, 20 12:58 pm  · 
1  · 
Bench

Consider actively searching out unrelated hobbies. Architects have a really (REALLY) bad habit of hanging out to much (or only) with other architects/designers. We're often quite boring, despite our heightened egos. Do something that interests you, where the potential new friends/acquantinces you can meet have other unrelated careers and/or don't really care about your *pushes glasses up nose* architecture career.

I jest somewhat here, but I think this is genuinely good advice. Having a diversity of social network to lean on is so much more stimulating than the monotony of the architecture world - sometimes.

Aug 24, 20 1:00 pm  · 
6  · 
Non Sequitur

This times 10. I have a half-dozen or so of my school colleagues that I still routinely see but it's because we have other common interests other than architecture. Our professional lives are secondary at best.

Aug 24, 20 1:06 pm  · 
 · 
Bench