Archinect
anchor

Good morning, and a new member question

Drawn in

Good morning everyone,

I'm new to this forum.  I can't believe I haven't thought to look for an architects forum before now.  Like many architects I work as a sole proprietor. I focus on mostly residential practice, but do work on select commercial projects from time to time.

I have a question regarding services as an HOA member.  I've been approached by a developer to work as an HOA officer for several neighborhoods ranging in size from 300-500 homes.  

Throughout the year they receive (100-150) applications from residents for modifications to their homes, and lots in each these sub divisions, fence installs, decks, additions, color selections, general compliance questions, etc.  My responsibilities would include reviewing, approving or denying requests for the HOA's.  Many of these require as little as 5-10 minutes to approve or deny applications, and some may require actual site visits, and more involvement (1 -2 hours). 

Additionally I may be asked to survey every home once every year or every other year in each subdivision to verify general HOA compliance on landscaping, maintenance, etc.  These surveys would be handled as an extra, reimbursable service each year the survey is performed.

The developer wants a flat rate fee for these yearly services based on a 2-3 year contract, and implementation of that contract arrangement with several subdivisions.  Basically like a yearly retainer fee paid each year for several subdivisions.

Sorry for the long post, but I thought the parameters need to be listed to make an informed response regarding fees.  I wonder what such a yearly fee would be considered appropriate.  My thought was $1,000-$1,500 per subdivision based on a multi year contract for each subdivision.  I'd handle this at first as it ramped up in size, but at some point would hand it off to a part time employee to handle the day to day requests.

Thanks for any advice offered.