Archinect
anchor

Is it impossible for architecture student to find remote freelance job?

majdcomp

So, I have about 2 years experience in using Autocad and 1 year with Revit. (despite being called 'experience' it's actually just the time since I started using those programs doing my school projects.)

It has been months since I've started looking for a job to help me financially, I'm pretty confident about my cad skills and can even do schedules in Revit. Yet no matter how much I search for those freelance jobs, I just can't find any of them...

I have even tried offering my services at several freelancing sites, with no result till this day.

The people offering jobs at those sites have millions of applicants in few minutes that are willing to do the job in dirt cheap price. It's impossible to compete with all those people.

What do you think I'm doing wrong here? is it just that I'm looking for jobs the wrong place?

Aug 12, 20 12:18 pm
ivanmillya

Why would anyone pay a 2nd year architecture student any money to do projects themselves? Go get a summer position at a firm that works you 55 hours a week for shit pay like everyone else.

Aug 12, 20 1:11 pm  · 
2  · 
Non Sequitur

why would anyone accept a shit job working 55hr/week?

Aug 12, 20 1:31 pm  · 
1  · 
ivanmillya

Just the sad reality for young students. Kids with two years on a bachelor's degree work horrendously slow (from their lack of time management), and get paid really low (from their lack of experience and knowledge of industry). Out here in the Midwest US, average rate for a 2nd year student would be about 12/hr. Most of the kids I've had on my teams as a project manager take almost a week to do what should be done in two days, at least for the first six months or so.

Aug 12, 20 1:45 pm  · 
1  · 
majdcomp