Archinect
anchor

HELP with my architect!

tenzilkeli3

Ok, long story short...I haven't had the best experience with my architect. He is designing an addition over our garage and it hasn't been the smoothest communication. We (my wife and I) are total newbs to this and so we bounce back ideas a lot, just trying to figure out what is best and how it all works and he seems rather stand offish about it all. For example, my wife couldn't figure out a good size for a pantry/nor where it should go. He sent a snippy email telling us that he charges and all the changes or indecision is costing us more. Things like this...where he isn't really helping us or guiding us, but leaving it all to us...makes it frustrating. Is it just us or is this normal? PLUS, we went back and forth on adding dormers or not...we wanted dormers, then the contractor kind of talked us out of it (trying to save some cost), but now we have decided to add them back in. The architect added them before then with his last draft, he added skylights and took out the dormers...is it too much to ask him to add it back in? We aren't really keen on communicating with him much anymore, but we want the end result to be something we love. Also, he sent his invoice AND it has gone through the structural engineer already...should we bother asking him to add back the dormers? Thanks.

Aug 11, 20 12:31 pm
senjohnblutarsky

Client indecision is why I won't touch residential.  Yes you should pay the architect.  Second, if you've been waffling, I'd quit doing stuff until you make a decision.  I'm busy enough I don't need to redo someone's project 10 times before they make up their minds.

Aug 11, 20 12:36 pm  · 
2  · 
Non Sequitur

Residential is the worst because we also have to act as marriage counselors.  There is a point in any project were client changes cost us time and money so yes, it's totally normal and expected for you to pay your architect extra to play around with options.