Archinect
anchor

Help with Employment / Starting Career in Architecture

blvck

Hi, I'm a 23 year old graduate with a Bachelor of Architecture degree from an international, NAAB accreditted institution. 

I have a decent resume and portfolio, I've done a couple of internships throughout school so I'm experienced with all design phases of a project from pre-schematic design all the way to construction documents. The reason why I'm writing here is because I moved to the United States 11 months ago in the hopes of starting a career in architecture, however, that is yet to happen. I've applied to 600+ job postings across the country since December 2019 but I've only landed 4 or 5 interviews so far with the last one being in February 2020.

I'm writing to ask for advice, insight or any help I could get that would be beneficial to me because I've been struggling ever since I moved here and I can't seem to find any luck when it comes to landing an entry-level job. I've also inquired about internships but that didn't work either. I'm currently located in Fort Worth, Texas but I don't mind relocating. Your thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Aug 3, 20 8:07 pm
natematt

Considering you started well before the pandemic, it seems like you are doing something wrong.... From what I gathered Texas was a pretty hot market before all this, so it's surprising you have had such a hard time... 

600 applications is a lot, are you applying to actual openings, or just cold applications to random firms? 

What does decent look like? That's not a very convincing opinion of your own work. 

How would you consider your communication skills? 

Aug 3, 20 8:41 pm  · 
 · 
poop876

Yeah, seriously... If I got your application yesterday I would have had you working today! Something must me off! Are you asking for relocation fees to paid? 

Aug 3, 20 9:12 pm  · 
 · 
sp429