Archinect
anchor

Questions For Sole Prop. Architects

AV Customs

Hello All, I am new to archinect but have been a ghost follower for years without creating an account. There is a wealth of information here that has proven very valuable and I thank you all for your contributions.

I am a draftsmen. My company has recently relocated down to Southern California but I previously had founded my company in Nor. California. I took any project, for any person, and provided reasonable pricing with my focus on meeting deadlines, returning calls and asking for referrals if they felt I had provided a good service. Today, we do estates, large custom homes as well as smaller projects for our repeat clients to fill in the gaps and get some quick cash. Last year we expanded to 3 draftsmen, 1 structural engineer working exclusively w/ us and we are all being compensated well for it.

Upon moving, I implemented the same practice and got on the phone/internet. I joined Facebook groups, made social media posts on all platforms and cold called every contractor I could find. Within 2 weeks, I signed 7 contracts. What I found the most interesting and what I've seen lamented time and time again lately on this board is that there's little work during COVID-19. I got in touch with a few of the AIA higher-ups down here and they all(not exaggerating) gave me the same response. "I'm just sitting here twiddling my thumbs, no work, projects on hold, etc....I could pick up some small projects but I prefer not to since I'll LOSE money". I've seen their work and it is fantastic, they are clearly extremely competent. But my experience has been different than theirs, I'm finding tons of work, but I'm also not picky. When I get the projects that I want & we get to use full creative effort on, that's what I highlight on my portfolio, social media, etc. Personally I don't feel as if that diminishes my reputation or product but maybe I'm wrong.

It leads me to the questions...