Archinect
anchor

Should I pursue architecture? seeking advice and opinion

ouiquay

Hello all, 

Writing seeking advice. I recently graduated undergrad with a double major in art history and studio art (sculpture). For most of college, I assumed I'd just go down the paralegal into lawyer track, as I had worked for law firms over the summer, and kind of just assumed, since I studied humanities, I'd be a lawyer. I've reconsidered this path, and have been looking into more creative avenues--UX/UI design, industrial design, architecture. I love building things, cherish my long nights in the sculpture studio, am constantly thinking about shape and form/the relationship between human movement and an object/place. Also, without fail, career aptitude tests tell me to be an architect (I know to take that with a salt flat's worth of salt, haha). At the end of the day, I know I will find much more satisfaction in my life if i'm working in a creative capacity, with visual, tangible results. 

I recently applied and hope to be accepted to Berkeley's summer institute for architecture. Primarily, I'm curious if any of you have done this program, know about it, and/or think it's a good use of time. I'm primarily interested in using it in a career exploration function. 

Other questions I have are:

Is architecture a rewarding profession? more creatively than financially. I get massive rushes of satisfaction and excitement when I finish a sculpture, reuse scavenged materials to build a chair, etc. --is that sense of satisfaction preserved in the day to day life of an architect?

How common is a non-arch undergrad degree in architecture? even after completing a masters, are non-arch undergrads at a disadvantage, employment wise? 

Is it a transferable degree? i.e what other creative routes do MArch holders sometimes go down? Does it open up opportunity in other, related fields?