Archinect
anchor

Confused architect grad seeking advice

Hi guys. This is my first time posting here and I'm genuinely looking for some advice from people who have been in the practice for while. I got a master degree in architecture in 2017 and worked for 2 years in residential. Early on I was interested in public architecture and public spaces due to my background in landscape. I did got offered a job at BIG but I chose a firm in Chicago instead. At my last job in architecture, I worked in a boutique studio in San Francisco on high-end house. I felt burnt out from drafting elevation drawings for 3 months straight and I was really unhappy and depressed. I think I suffered from the gap between my creative education and the technical requirement of the practice - I felt like I knew nothing about construction after 7 years of education. I was paid below average pay to live in San Francisco. Being so close to startup culture, I made a leap in 7 weeks and landed on a job in tech company as a product designer. Now I have experimented about 1 year in tech. During that, I've learned a lot more about consumer, business and market in the past year being in tech. I have been in general more happy and have a better mental stability, but I also really miss the challenges in architecture, the interesting problems, design-build aspect, and more so I have been away from focusing on one area to create deep expertise. I still identify as an architectural designer.  I'm deciding what areas I should go into for the next step in my career. I'm passionate about design impact and transferring the built environment, and I value creativity largely. What advice would you offer to me? Really appreciated your suggestions!

Jun 26, 20 6:03 pm
archanonymous

So you worked from 2017 to 2019 in Chicago, then SF, on residential projects, but you were initially interested in public spaces?