Archinect
anchor

Trying to understand a career path after working for a energy consultancy firm

Eva star

Hi,

I am a B.arch with one year experience.I have worked with architectural firm as part time and designed parametric space frames on grasshopper. And as a full time i work as a research Assistant for a energy consultancy firm , and during this period i have been able to sharpen my skills in ladybug tools and i am beginner at OpenFOAM CFD tool.

After working in these two environment I realized I am hung in between being a designer and a energy consultant.

Hence i have a few questions like, how can i integrate the two job roles into one, where i can design as well as do energy simulations and CFD analysis? Also , should i pursue a masters? or should i work and gain more experience?

Thankyou!

Jun 24, 20 12:41 pm
thisisnotmyname

Your desired position sounds like the in-house sustainability people I used to work with at several architecture firms.   With regards to a masters, my answer would be: Maybe, if you can afford it without taking on major debt.  I say that because, of the in-house people I worked with at the firm, the guy with the PhD and multiple masters degree was a mouthy charlatan while the guy with only a B.Arch and a lot of work experience was actually knowledgeable.

Jun 24, 20 1:10 pm  · 
1  ·  1
natematt

Sounds like you either need to get into a firm that is very sustainability focused, or one that is large enough to have dedicated staff to sustainability, but would also let you work on projects.... or the inverse, a firm that will also let you also work on their sustainability initiatives. 

Much of the ladybug done in our office is by the designers who are doing work out of grashopper. We don't typically do CFD though, usually we leave that to the engineers or specialty consultants. 

Jun 24, 20 3:00 pm  · 
1  · 
Eva star