Archinect
anchor

I'm have a hard time with my major

naomiandino

I'm in my second year of studying architecture. I knew I wanted to study it since I was 15 but after my first year I realized I don't like it that much. I love admiring building and I love history of architecture but I hate designing houses. I don't like calculating anything either. 

My dad is a construction manager and I've worked with him before and I loved it. But I know he's not an architect or engineer so why should I? But he's not going to let me drop out. So basically I just need some motivation because I started this so now I have to finish it. 

Have any of you gone through something like this? How did you deal with it? 

Jun 13, 20 12:58 am
citizen

This is yet another good reminder that-- just like music, dance, film, cuisine, photography, theater, and other arts-- architecture can be enjoyed in many ways without ever becoming a practitioner.  Get out now, find a field you love, then join a historic preservation organization and go to lectures and exhibits.

Jun 13, 20 1:05 am  · 
3  · 
square.

i would second this and add that infact you will probably, paradoxically, love architecture more (at least in a more genuine/passionate/hobby sense) if it is not your career. this is the irony in pursuing a career in any field.. when it becomes work, it loses much of the allure you are speaking about. i have seen this happen myself; i used to love architecture, but now it's a job. my side interests and hobbies have nothing to do with it because it's generally the last thing i want to do when i punch the clock. long story short, find a means of subsistence (a job) and keep architecture as a hobby.

Jun 13, 20 11:05 am  · 
2  · 
midlander

from what you've described you have 2 reasonable possibilities to consider