Archinect
anchor

Liability for unstamped drawings from a licensed architect

backbay

I'm a licensed architect in MA.  A family member of mine is gutting their kitchen, and I volunteered to help them design it.  I'm doing it for free, no contract.  I'm enjoying it, and I'd rather not involve money and family.

Anyway, in MA you dont need to have an architect to do a kitchen renovation.  The biggest thing the project has is the removal of a non-loadbearing wall, and you can do that on your own as a homeowner.

The project is all DIY, so theres no GC.  There will however be an electrician and plumber.  Both of these guys suggested that my family members dont pull a permit because its easier-- I told them no, do it right and pull a permit.

So they're pulling a permit, and (i guess the point of this post) theres a section on the form for them to list the architect.  I dont want to be the architect, I just wanted to help them with space planning and finishes, not sign sign off on construction control affidavits.  With no GC, I feel like 100% of the liability for the project would fall on me, and I'd rather avoid it.

Does anyone here know if, by drawing up plans and helping them out, I'm already responsible for everything?  If I dont stamp the drawings, am I still responsible?

I read through the Massachusetts general law provisions for registered architects, but I didnt find it very clear.  My interpretation of some of the language is that if I do anything related to architecture (even something a homeowner could do) I am acting as an architect, stamped drawings or no stamped drawings.

If that's the case then I'd rather just be the architect officially and avoid any problems from the get go.  But if I can just draft up the drawings and have them deal with the building department, I'd rather do that.

Any advice?  Anyone deal with a similar sort of situation?

Jun 9, 20 11:37 pm
thisisnotmyname