Archinect
anchor

Potential first project on my own

cdimey

I have a potential client and I'm wondering if I should take the job, or refer him to a firm. The project is a home renovation, which would require full engineering as well since they want to do an addition. I do know a couple of engineers and contractors I could reach out to for services and estimates. 

I'm a licensed architect with 7 years experience, 4 years after graduating. I've been licensed for two years, however, I have always worked for a firm and have never actually signed plans. My first job was in a small firm for 6 years, they did a little of everything from residential to commercial and higher education. Now I work for a much larger firm. I do have some experience with residential work from my previous firm. 

I'm just worried I may make a mistake if I take the job. On the other hand, if I don't try I can never go on my own which I eventually want to do. Thoughts? Anyone have any advice for taking your first project on your own? 

May 17, 20 4:18 pm
thisisnotmyname

Buy some insurance, get an equitable written contract with the client, and do it.  It sounds like you have access to a team (engineers and contractors) that can get you where you need to go.

May 17, 20 4:52 pm  · 
1  · 
randomised

Take the bull by the horns!

May 17, 20 5:17 pm  · 
2  · 
Wood Guy

Why do you want this project? Will it compromise your current employment? Do you have a mentor who can check your work? 

May 17, 20 5:29 pm  · 
 · 

Go for it. It's residential, so significantly lower stakes than commercial, and a good way to learn. I will tell a story of my first-ever residential side job, take it as a warning: