Archinect
anchor

Tips to Upskill during Covid

insertnamehere

Hi there, 

I'm new to Archinect. I completed my bachelors last year. I've been working for 6 months now at this small company which almost exclusively does F&B spaces. So almost all employees were furloughed indefinitely. 

So I'd like your tips on how to spend my free time productively. What are the skills I should be learning? How do I make use of this time? 

Thanks, I look forward to hearing from you.

May 13, 20 10:12 am

Hey insertnamehere,

It really depends on your goals long term or when this all ends. If it's employment, you could take time to develop a nice conceptual project with refined drawings and diagrams that you  could use to strengthen your portfolio. Since you've just graduated, something like this should be okay.

On the other hand, it could be helpful to start studying for your licensing exams. Even if you don't plan to test yet, what you study will help you tremendously in our professional work once you're back in the game. For example, you may need to learn how to do code analysis, or read schedules properly, how to navigate code, etc. There's a ton you could learn on that level.

But, like I said, it really depends on what you're trying to achieve. What do you want to work on during this time you now have?

May 13, 20 2:33 pm  · 
1  · 
insertnamehere

Right now my goals are employment. So I did consider working on a conceptual project. A concern I have with this is, usually all our designs are solutions to design problems. May it be a site constraint or something else, what gives a design character is that we are responding to a particular problem. How does this work with a conceptual/ hypothetical project? Since there aren't any issues that steers design in a particular direction.

May 14, 20 2:34 am  · 
 ·