Archinect
anchor

How to draw an elevation for this irregular floor plan

Novosibils

I am a first year architecture student and need some advice on drawing the elevation of this design as there are only two walls that are not at an angle.

I am drawing two elevations, one south, and one north at 1:50.

I have started to project vertical lines down from each element, however have found the scale is lost after e.g. 200mm window becomes 180mm.

A quick sketch or example would be highly appreciated and would afford this lowly student a lot of help tonight. 

if I haven't made it clear enough feel free to ask a question to clarify.

May 11, 20 5:55 pm
archanonymous

You should draw the cardinal elevations as traditional projections. (N,S,E,W) but also draw the unrolled elevation of each piece of the building.

May 11, 20 6:03 pm  · 
2  · 
archanonymous

Here's a good example:

May 11, 20 6:04 pm  · 
 · 
archanonymous

Another: 

Related image

May 11, 20 6:05 pm  · 
1  · 

If this is for a presentation of your own work I would do a perspective or two.  

If it's a drafting assignment then what archanymous is suggesting is dead on.  

May 11, 20 7:06 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla

draw a ground plane somewhere above the plan, and then pull the vertical  lines up from the plan by hand or in CAD however many feet above the ground plane you need to represent the height, trim, etc, add horizontal planes.  It’s an easy and accurate technique.  

May 11, 20 9:37 pm  · 
2  · 
citizen

You're projecting... orthographically, that is.

May 12, 20 1:32 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

spiral staircases? Gosh, I remember those being banned from studio project back when I was in school. Too easy a solution (and not legal means of egress). 

May 12, 20 5:40 am  · 
 · 

This is what I'd do, in order of priority. The unfolded elevations are cool for a presentation, though.

May 12, 20 8:35 am  · 
3  · 
Oscar_Ellis

1. Begin by drawing the outline of the house.