Archinect
anchor

Any books for improving my drawing skills?

editheo

Hi everyone! I'm a high-school student in my last year, preparing for my architecture exam and I'm really interested in books or documents, articles, anything to help me improve my drawing. I've seen this book, Drawing for Architects: Construction and Design Manual by Natascha Meuser, but it's very expensive and I can't find it online. Can you recommend me some other ones that I can acquire more easily or direct me to some website where I can find the book I mentioned? I appreciate any answer!

May 8, 20 12:20 pm
Non Sequitur

Looks like amazon used books has a few for $40usd... that's very cheap for an arch book.  A good source is anything by Francis DK Ching such as: Building Construction Illustrated

Also, what's an architecture exam?

May 8, 20 12:26 pm  · 
2  · 
editheo

Thank you for the info! And sorry about that, I meant to say architecture admission exam, for university. That's just how it is in my country and when I translated from my mother tongue to english I got it a bit wrong. Anyway, thanks again.

May 8, 20 3:34 pm  · 
 · 
robhaw

'The elements of drawing' by Ruskin, is a classic choice among architecture students. I think it involves drawing exercises, but I haven't used it myself.

May 9, 20 3:23 pm  · 
1  · 
robhaw

Don't buy any of the Construction and Design Manuals, they are not worth it. I bought one some time ago and it was just an overpriced picture book. Nothing to do with construction and very little to do with design. What kind of drawing skill are you interested in? Technical or hand drawing?

May 8, 20 1:24 pm  · 
1  · 
editheo

Thank you so much for the tip! I'm always looking to get better at both technical and hand drawing, but I'm doing fine on the technical part for now, so freehand drawing is the issue.

May 8, 20 3:36 pm  · 
 ·