Archinect
anchor

Can I take an unpaid internship or volunteer to work for a company?

estellehayashi

Hi, I am a student studying in the US. I was originally planning to travel to Europe this summer, but had to cancel my trip. I thought i would look for an internship instead.  I see most of the companies only hire Senior students, but I am not. It is really difficult to find an internship right now, especially under this situation. I was wondering if I could email the companies I am interested to see if I can volunteer to work for them for 1-3 months, either part time or full time just to get some working/ training experience, and I was also hoping to get a return offer or something after this. If I am allowed to do so, could you recommend a few architectural firms that offer training to the interns or firms still look for interns. Thank you.

Mar 25, 20 10:31 am
flatroof

Don't work for free. Period.

Mar 25, 20 10:34 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Never take an unpaid job.  never. no exception.

Have some respect for yourself.

Mar 25, 20 10:35 am  · 
 · 
autofireunit

I would work for a short period of time if you've never had any work experience or the firm has big names.

From both you are getting something out of it. Otherwise it is not worth it.

Mar 25, 20 2:27 pm  · 
 · 

no, it's never worth it to work for free.

Mar 25, 20 2:30 pm  · 
 · 
atelier nobody

DO. NOT. WORK. FOR. FREE.

Mar 25, 20 5:06 pm  · 
 · 
Almosthip

Never, ever work for free

Mar 25, 20 5:14 pm  · 
 · 

If you haven't gotten the message yet ... Can We Talk?

Mar 25, 20 5:49 pm  · 
 · 
anaisziwei

If you are not able to get an internship - I would actually suggest u taking the time on brushing ur software skills, do something u always wanted to do (hobbies) that isn't possible during academic terms... Do not work for free. We have to work together, worldwide, to eradicate such awful practices. Good luck to u! :)

Mar 25, 20 7:01 pm  · 
 · 
Sitting Duck