Archinect
anchor

Architect to small-scale design build

loci

Long time lurker here, looking for someone to slap me with a reality check.

I'm an architect in Canada, currently project managing technically complex projects in the 5-15 million dollar range, none of which are residential. I've never worked on residential projects before, though my introduction to architecture was through working for homebuilders and residential developers in my younger years.  Most of my days now are spent coordinating consultants and I am longing for the hands-on aspect of building that I thought I would be getting more of when I signed up for this profession.

I'm daydreaming about leaving the corporate gig and setting up shop in my basement, becoming the architect and general contractor for spec-build projects. I have enough saved up that I could, in theory, purchase the land required and secure a construction loan. The value add is that I take charge or the whole process, design, CD production, approvals, project manage, and self-perform some work where possible. Keep the overhead low and cut the fat until the model is scaleable.  If it all fails I lose a bit of money and go back to work for the man. I love architecture, but I crave having greater control of a project - something I don't have with the projects I currently work on.

I'm surprised there weren't many forum posts on others doing the same thing. Has anyone made the leap in this direction that could share their experience? Does the institutional work experience translate to the world of single family home building, or am I in for a total surprise? Any sage advice (based on the limited information provided). 

Mar 7, 20 2:53 pm
midlander