Archinect
anchor

Have anyone here hired a licensed architect for learning purposes??

adamk1992

Hello,

I was wondering if any of you ever tried to hire an architect so they can learn from him/her.

I'm a 28 years old architecture school graduate who never really worked in the field of architecture. I graduated then started working as a drafter for steel fabricators, then last year, I established a steel detailing firm and work has been good. 

At this point of my life, I can't leave my business and peruse another new path (Entry level architect position) unless I want to scarify 70% of my income (which I think would be crazy thing to do).

My goal is that I practice architecture on the side. I want to accumulate enough knowledge to be able to take small projects here and there and then grow organically from there. I think of it as something that could be an additional stream of income along with steel detailing. 

I have been looking to find a part time entry level position that I can fit into my schedule. Unfortunately, it's very very very hard to find part-time jobs, especially for entry level....

That led me to think about hiring a young licensed architect, maybe someone I can meet with after work and maybe Saturdays and help him/her with their work as long as they take the time to train me (and of course, give me those NCARB hours I need to be able to apply for the license test at some point in the  future)

Has anyone done something similar? Is what I'm thinking about is achievable in your opinion?

Any input will be much much appreciated!

Thanks

Feb 3, 20 11:51 pm
kjdt

This question comes up here fairly often: the problem with this scheme is that it does not count toward "NCARB hours", because in the settings that require supervision by a licensed professional, the person accumulating the experience must be an employee and must be getting paid for their work in that setting.  

Feb 4, 20 12:16 am  · 
 ·