Archinect
anchor

Advice needed from Project managers

2020aditic

Hello,

I am an Architect from India and currently working with a US based outsourcing firm for 3 years. I am planning to pursue masters in Construction management as I've a background of real estate and construction in my home country. I would like to know few things:

1. I absolutely have an interest in estimation, scheduling and management,  but i would like to know will it be difficult for me to undertake this program since I've an architectural background?

2. Does this program has to do a lot with calculus mathematics  and physics? 

3. Can anyone please share their experience on being a Construction Manager. 

Thanks.

Jan 22, 20 8:02 am
joseffischer

My opinions are only based on working with PMs/Supers on site both under GCs and Construction Managers.  

1. We won't be able to gauge how well you will do with your experience in a Construction Management degree that you don't even name, but I'd like to think my architectural background would help me breeze through a program like that.  I would argue it should be clear whether you're a "nuts and bolts" type of architect who would probably be better off in construction.  As a self-prescribed nuts-and-bolts architect, I'd suggest we stick out like a sore thumb in most traditional firms.

2. Again, you haven't told us which exact program you're looking into, but I can't imagine calculus and physics being a big deal.  You'll need to "work an excel sheet" or the more modern version of that, for gantt charts and schedules, pay apps, and the like, but arguably the jobs you're shooting for don't even require over a highschool education.