Archinect
anchor

Job prospects interior designer vs architect

Archicatman

What's the market like for jobs in interiors vs architect? I heard the pay is around the same but one person said top interior designers can charge more. I'm deciding between studying between the two but am leaning toward interior design, I heard studying for arch is a lot harder. 

Jan 20, 20 10:51 pm
chuckluck

Which one do you like/enjoy more???

You are basically saying that you are leaning towards interior design because it's supposedly "easier" to study and can get you slightly more $. Please don't tell me you are basing your decision off which gets paid more.

Jan 21, 20 3:08 am  · 
1  · 
Archicatman

For an architect my main concern is doing routine boring work that doesn't require much creativity. Working for a company not sure what the work would entail. As an interior designer I would think that is more of a guarantee to be doing something creative. I want to have individual creative expression. 

Jan 21, 20 6:31 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

How do you feel about moving around work station/cubicles and picking fabric patterns? The reality is, you can do int des with an arch background but not the other way around. Sure, there are tedious problem solving aspects, but that’s part of the challenges of the job. Putting buildings together in a meaningful way takes effort, shopping for furniture on your client’s dime does not.

Jan 21, 20 6:43 am  · 
1  · 
leonizer

Interior designers? More like interior desecraters!

Jan 21, 20 10:29 am  · 
 · 
OddArchitect

All the interior designers I've worked with did much more than pick material colors.  They space planed, programmed, wrote specs and did interior details 

Jan 21, 20 11:03 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Chad, my comment above was to highlight that there are also routine and "boring" work in int-des that may not fall in the creative freedom ambition of the OP.

Jan 21, 20 11:07 am  · 
 · 
OddArchitect