Archinect
anchor

Building Design, Permitting, and Construction. UK vs US

rrickels

I have been developing sites across the US for the past 10 years.  Recently took a job that will move me to the UK.  Does anyone have any insight on the major differences to the design, permitting, construction, and inspection process in the UK vs the US?  Is one considered tougher than the other?

Jan 17, 20 4:19 pm
BulgarBlogger

Can you please explain in a few sentences or paragraphs what the difference is between US and UK law?

I was being fecitious above. Impossible to explain in two swntences

Jan 17, 20 8:16 pm
rrickels

Well I apologize for being unclear.  I'm not asking for a thorough explanation of all things UK and all things US in real estate development.  I'm only asking if there are any professionals here that have worked in their field in both the US and UK perhaps they can share some of the biggest differences they experienced.  I wouldn't expect an electrical engineer to tell me the difference between Planning and Zoning in the US and UK.

So, question to the hive, if you've worked in both US and UK, what are some of the biggest differences you noticed in your respective fields.

Jan 17, 20 9:50 pm
White_Snowman

My guess is the biggest difference is the UK would be in metric. 

Jan 19, 20 11:04 am
RickB-Astoria

UK is a dual Imperial / Metric country. Remember, it was the UK that introduced the Imperial system that the U.S. uses in the first place but because of the time the UK has been part of the European Union there has been more implementation of Metric.