Archinect
anchor

Could an architectural engineer do both their job and an architect’s job?

kristinaziso
I just started studying architectural engineering and I wanted to know if an arch engineer would also be able to design their own building while also doing the engineering part? Or do they necessarily have to work with actual architects and their already completed designs? I’m equally interested in both engineering and the artistic design aspect of it and I wanted to know if it was possible to do both.

Jan 17, 20 4:56 am
poop876

Yes!

Jan 17, 20 8:52 am
code

I worked with one, they can - architectural engineering is really the way to go  @ Cal Poly SLO

Jan 17, 20 11:54 am
RickB-Astoria

It entirely depends on the states and to what extent an engineer may do what is 'practice of architecture' as far as being incidental to their practice of engineering. Each state has their interpretation as this is somewhat a gray area within their respective laws and rules and overlap practice is contested territory so to speak.

Jan 17, 20 12:46 pm
SneakyPete

Possible to do both? Yes. Possible to gain architecture licensure? Depends on the degree's status with NCARB.

Jan 17, 20 1:56 pm
RickB-Astoria

Even if not NAAB accredited, the state licensing board may give some credit towards the licensure process of the state.

SneakyPete

Not likely.

mightyaa

Yes.  Assuming the degree is both ABET and NAAB accredited, you can get both licenses.  My Dad had both from OSU (where I went too but didn't get the AE degree).  Basically, with that degree, you could do the internship and take both exams getting dual licenses becoming a licensed architect and structural engineer.