Archinect
anchor

Could an architectural engineer do the job of both an architect and an arch engineer?

kristinaziso

I just started studying architectural engineering technology and I would just like to know if I was to complete my bachelor’s degree in this program, would I be able to design my own building on top of doing all the engineering work? Or do you have to necessarily work on architects’ already completed projects? I like artistic aspect of it but I also really like the engineering too. Could I do both?

Jan 17, 20 1:55 pm
trishadevora

Why not. Somebody can have both the ability

Apr 14, 21 12:37 am  · 
1  · 
randomised

And sometimes they can do neither...

Apr 14, 21 8:27 am  · 
2  · 
whistler

Look up Santiago Calatrava ... he seemed to figure it out. Aside from the basic professional associations / registrations the architectural education is profoundly improved by the addition of a complimentary education ( interior / landscape / engineering / planning / business etc )

Apr 14, 21 3:11 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

He's a structural engineer, not an architectural engineer. 

Apr 14, 21 3:55 pm  · 
 · 
whistler

Yes I am aware that Santiago is a Structural Eng. That was my point. he is also an Architect too.

Apr 14, 21 4:10 pm  · 
 · 
shellarchitect

These seems like a really good question to have investigated before starting your program.  

You should look into your specific school accreditation and the exam requirements for your state.  If you are lucky you will be able to take the exams after graduation, perhaps after an internship period.  

You might find that the more efficient path is an NAAB accredited M. Arch degree.

Apr 15, 21 1:29 pm  · 
 · 
Wood Guy