Archinect
anchor

Hit the Revit Wall- what next?

Moriah

The video tutorials are no longer real helpful. Too basic. But I have no resident Revit expert to help me here. Is there an advanced online course or other learning resource to move into more advance projects?

I'm not an architect. I have a Master's in zoology and worked as a wildlife biologist for most of my career. I've been working with Revit now for about a year (not exclusively)- started with a barn design project, then did residential work mostly existing conditions documentation for reno or sprinkler design. I can do most of these projects quite efficiently and accurately at this point. I've also designed decks/towers for restaurants and hotels. 

But now I am working on existing conditions for an old church- including steeple, crawl space, sloping topography, all sorts of different floor and ceiling heights and specialized families for dormers, decorative beams/rafters in the chapel, and stained glass windows. They want it to "look" right- not just have everything where it should be. 

I'm kinda stuck. The roofs come together wrong and I don't know how to fix it. Parametric control (understanding) is lacking so if I move a wall slightly I might lose windows or doors and pull something out of place. 

I drafted in the wrong order, so when I change the walls because a dimension was checked and needs slight adjustment I have to go back and move the sinks and cabinets and stove (etc). 

My walls and elevations become inaccurate when I attach walls to roof or to floors, etc. I made a specialized family for the rafters in the chapel and now can't easily edit it because the roof slope changed slightly. 

It's a bit of a mess.

It is a tiny office of 3 and I am the only one who can use Revit. The other two work in AutoCAD.