Archinect
anchor

Switching careers at 36 to architecture?

michaellau1

hi I am 36 and thinking of going into architecture. Would it be advisable? And how would I do it? Enroll in an undergrad again or a master's degree? I graduated computer science.. thanks.

Nov 24, 19 11:47 am
Bloopox

Since you already have a bachelor degree, the shortest route would be an M.Arch program.  Most have a 3 to 3.5 year route for those who don't already have an undergrad degree in a related field.  Applying typically requires a portfolio of visual work, and sometimes a few pre-reqs such as a course in architecture history, a semester of physics, and/or calculus.

Whether you should do it or not is a lot more complicated - you should try to arrange to shadow an architect, to see what the day to day work is really like.  Understand the timeline:  after the 3 or 3.5 years of study you'll usually need at least 3 years of experience before you can sit for the licensing exams.  An oft-repeated rule of thumb is that architects aren't even fully competent until their mid 50s.  If you start your M.Arch at 36 you'll be 8-10 years behind the average, so might hit your stride in your 60s.  Be realistic about salary expectations: most architects are not highly paid professionals.

Nov 24, 19 12:13 pm
RickB-Astoria

So instead of 3 years of architecture education spread over 5 years, because of general education, an M.Arch does that education curriculum in ~3 years because you don't have those undergrad general education.  

A lot of the basic requirements of an NAAB accredited degree is stipulated and defined by NAAB. Each school has limited flexibility with it but there is certain defined requirements in the accreditation.

( o Y o )

Do you have a trust fund?

Nov 24, 19 12:23 pm
flatroof