Archinect
anchor

How much does it help having family in the industry?

scottmorrison

I have a Masters of Fine Arts Degree and finished top in my class. Because its obviously nearly impossible to find work as an acadmeic with a decent salary, regardless of grades and current connections, I'm looking at pursuing architecture.

This was my second choice for a profession when I was younger. I loved it at school and my uncle is an architect; now I'm thinking about a career change and architecure is on my radar.

I've been looking at every field, but I know that arch is probably the most viable path for me to take if I want to be involved in problem solving, and even small aspects of the design process; I know it's in reality only a small part of the job, with serious hours and stress.

I'm 28, and will be 35 by the time I have my degree - maybe 40 by the time I'm licensed.

As my uncle is an architect with his own company, with four other employees, I wonder how much of an advantage this could give me. He'll give me CAD work to do during study, and maybe a job afterwards. Havent discussed this with him yet as its early days and itd be disrespectful of me.

Who here has family connections in architecture, and how much did it help?

Nov 24, 19 9:08 pm
Non Sequitur

Maybe ask your uncle instead of some random internet wankers.

You need to take a hard look at the day-to-day work load most architects do and compare that to your expectations.  

Nov 24, 19 9:29 pm  · 
 · 
midlander

well if you want to work in a five person office with your uncle, that connection very likely helps. more than that really depends on how connected your uncle is, how good you are at this, and how much he cares.

my wife is an architect, and i'll admit her connections led me to my 2nd, 3rd, and 4th jobs. Number 5 was a recruiter, and number 1 was through an ex gf in college. and my dad's high school buddy was an architect who interviewed me for a job i declined (low pay).