Archinect
anchor

Becoming a Licensed Architect vs Architectural Engineer?

architrekkie

So I am considering my career path, and trying to determine which suits my goals best. The reason I'm considering these two pathways is because I do architectural drafting, and I want to become more involved in the design of buildings. My background is environmental science so I have a particular interest in sustainability. Here is what I am considering so far:

Licensed Architect: Complete 3.5 yr M.Arch program. Complete ~1400 hrs of AXP internship work experience. Take the ARE to become licensed. Look for jobs as an architect.

Architectural Engineer: Take 3 pre-requisites (before graduation). Complete 1-1.5 yr masters of science in architectural engineering. Look for jobs as an architectural engineer.

Am I missing any considerations? Am I overlooking any important aspects? Is there another option I haven't considered?

Thank you :)

Nov 21, 19 1:46 pm
architrekkie

I have a BS in Envi Sci and Policy. So non-architecture and non-engineering. The person I spoke to is the Executive Director of Professional Licensing Boards at the MD Dept of Labor so I hope he is not wrong! But perhaps I will reach out to someone else tomorrow to double check his information. From what I read, there are 3 options - none of which specify whether a non-eng bach + eng masters would qualify as “equivalent” to any of their education requirements - which is why I reached out. For reference, here is where I read the requirements: http://www.labor.maryland.gov/license/pe/peexampe.shtml

Nov 21, 19 5:53 pm  · 
 · 
mightyaa

What you want to look for is a AE program that is both ABET and NAAB accrediated.  Then you run the internship concurrently; they closely align.  And get your Architectural and Structural Engineering license.  There are few out there...

Nov 22, 19 1:35 am  · 
 · 
Chad Miller