Archinect
anchor

A Few Questions About Going Into The Architecture Path

contonio

Hello, I am a student in high school studying Architectural Drafting. I was wondering if anyone would like to answer questions that I've had for a short time while taking Drafting. 

1. What skills are needed in this job field? What courses do I need to focus on in this educational pathway?

2. What is the work environment like? How much does work affect your social life? Is it a low/high stress level job?

3. Does it financially pay well? Does this job compete with other jobs within the field?

Nov 21, 19 1:07 am
Archicore

I'm sure those who are further down their career paths could provide better answers but here goes:

First off, I'm going to assume you're looking at being an Architect. Maybe I'm wrong on this, but I wouldn't really consider being a drafter as an end-game career goal. In the places I've worked, a drafter is considered a support position (Though it is absolutely critical to projects!)

1. If you're asking for specific programs to learn, Revit is pretty popular in the US, and AutoCAD is slowly being phased out but is still used pretty widely.

If you're asking about skills, there are many answers to that question, and I'd say that each architect has something that they like to specialize in, or one skill they think is the most important. I'd personally say passion, and tenacity. If you don't love architecture, are only in it for the money, or give up/get dissuaded easily, this field might not be a great idea for you.

Some other things would be structures, design philosophies and theory, public speaking, Take some time outside of your courses (architecture school can be very "fluffy" at the best of times.) to work with contractors or learn how buildings actually go together. A drafter/designer who knows how to put together a building is worth way more than an acadamia nut with 6 years and a masters.