Archinect
anchor

Doubts in pursuing my studies

carmenbonja

Hi everyone,

It is taking me a lot of courage to write this post but I ran into some forums and would like to explain my situation.

I always had doubts in my creativity and I always felt like I didn’t  have it enough. I don’t dream enough when I’m making my buildings and I am only making plans that function without any concept.

I have noticed this recently. I am a second year architecture student in Paris. I am a foreign student and I already feel really bad that my parents are paying everything for me to succeed. 

I really liked architecture before I started going to school, and used to watch a lot of documentaries about architecture and had a big passion for art. I didn’t go to an architecture school right after high school because I had a lot of creativity doubts and ended up doing a year of biology because of these doubts. I gave it a lot of thought and decided that architecture was what I wanted and that I had to stop doubting myself. During my first year of school, I found myself in the exact position I though I would be: no creativity, having a hard time to find a concept, and slowly started hating architecture. My profs criticized me a LOT, they’re french and super fucking rude. I have trouble expressing myself and my ideas and can’t use proper terms to describe my ideas. I passed my year by 0.06 and my profs told me I should work on myself more during the summer.

I obviously didn’t open a book of architecture during the summer because I really wanted to take a break from the school year, which was super tiring. 

Anyway, I wouldn’t say that I hate architecture but it‘s sort of a love hate relationship.