Archinect
anchor

Currently working as a planner, hoping to retrain as a landscape architect or architect

Winningdays

I'm 27 and have been working as a planner since April 2017. I have a masters and some money saved up. I'm currently working for a municipality as a policy planner in Ontario, and while I like the work, I'd ultimately like to do something more related to design. I have more of an artistic background and have skills with drawing, painting, graphic design, and GIS. 

It looks like the only option for me to train as a landscape architect would be to get a 3 year masters, but I don't really want to take 3 years off of my career at this age. Apparently you can become a landscape architect with a degree in a related field with more training in my province, but I haven't really found anyone on Linkedin who went that route. To become an architect I'd also have to do a 3 year masters or do the RAIC syllabus. Which of these options is preferable in my situation or would you recommend something else entirely? Thanks!

Oct 22, 19 7:41 pm
Non Sequitur

you may be able to take an accredited 2y architecture masters if you have a relatable undergrad and a superior portfolio.  The syllabus is different and allows you to keep working while completing the course work but it takes just as long and you don’t get a master degree out of it ( which by itself opens up many doors). Another problem with the syllabus is that it’s quskity in entirely based on the volunteers who run the local raic chapters. Smaller cities might not even have the option. 

I can’t say much about landscape arch in Ontario. The only program I e ever heard of is ubc... and I only of one practicing LA in my city. 

Oct 22, 19 7:47 pm  · 
 · 
Bench

Pretty sure you can't register into a 2-year MArch in Canada without the pre-professional degree, and even then it's on a case by case basis. The schools are very strict about this; the OP will almost certainly have to attend a 3-year program.