Archinect
anchor

First job and future career

xuwei93

Hi Archinect,

After an incredibly long and arduous job search in the US from abroad, I have received an offer from an architectural firm, for my first full-time job. It seems like the firm will give me good experience and exposure to all project phases, which is something I'm definitely looking for. Only thing, the firm's portfolio is comprised mostly of apartment renovations, and designwise it isn't the strongest firm out there.

While I feel that at this point I really need experience,  since I am a recent graduate, I'm wondering how or if starting my career in a firm with such a portfolio will affect my chances of moving up to a higher profile firm with larger projects; I'd love it if some of you with similar concerns or insight on this matter could share your opinions here.

Thank you so much in advance for your input

Sep 24, 19 9:44 am
Non Sequitur

Design is only a small fraction of the profession.  Sure, it gets all the attention when you're in school and certainly has sex appeal, but not every project and not every firm will even come close to sniff at the level of design and flair fresh grads aspire to.

Not to say good design is not out there, but it varies and experience managing real projects, with real clients, and participating in as many phases as possible is where you need to be.  Maybe you don't have the chops top shiny firms are looking for, so take this opp as a first step in enlarging your skill set and re-apply once you've built up a sizable professional portfolio.

Sep 24, 19 9:59 am  · 
 · 
xuwei93

Thank you Non Sequitur. Going for experience and exposure to all parts of the profession feels like the right thing to do. I'm not necessarily after top shiny firms now; on the short term I'm definitely happy learning the basics and building up skill in this firm. I want to make sure that my decision now doesn't limit my future to one path of work or one type of firm.