Archinect
anchor

Career Advice Needed - Balancing Industry / Academia

peer_gynt

Hello everyone,

I would like to ask somebody who is more experienced for some advice considering my personal development. Sorry for the long post, hopefully, somebody makes it to the end :D

I am an architect from Eastern Europe in the late 20s, living and working in Italy at the moment. My professional life is full of everything that I could get. Since the situation in the industry is not so well, I accepted everything offered to me and also developed everything that got to my mind. So, at the moment I am:

- doing a Ph.D. in architectural technology
- freelancing for the US market - real estate projects
- finishing my own website/blog focused on parametric design

And since the new academic year is ready to kick in, I was thinking to reorganize my life a bit. Assignments killed me in July - breaking deadlines and making mistakes.

How I ended there? Well, first I was terrified by the current job situation, so I started to read a lot of books about architectural business and business in general. Then, when the opportunities started to come I tackled every one of them and worked hard to leave a very good impression.

When I was 24 I went to Italy to do my MSc in Architecture and then as I finished, I got this job in real estate for the US. It is excellent paid considering the difference in average salaries between Italy and the US. Starting from 26, I was able to support myself and not have fixed working hours. Sounds great! The problem, well most of the projects are not fancy and to put in your portfolio. Suburban single and multifamily projects. However, I learned a lot about project management and project organization. In fact, the company was first planned to be a startup developing plugin, but since that didn't work, they moved to real estate.