Archinect
anchor

Money for grad school international vs domestic

bluearchitect1

So just as a discussion point here, I find it quite interesting the discrepancies between funding of international students at my new grad school versus local domestic students. So I am a US undergrad and I received only a limited amount of aid. I am the minority in my grad school with almost 70-80% being foreign students coming from mostly Indian and asian countries. In discussing with my classmates it seems that many of them are on full scholarships with living expenses included. The work we have done is fairly comparable in design and many of the foreign students do not have knowledge of rhino or adobe. 

**I'm only partially disgruntled here as I went through undergrad in a similar fashion and am a firm believer that financial scholarships for many cases should not only be classified by your parents income but most primarily merit earned awards. I don't think I deserve anything. But obviously that gets into a lot of politics which is besides that point. 

In all this talk with parents paying top dollars to get their kids into schools, I feel like this type of scheming is already happening here when you think about the college admissions and funding that goes on behind the scenes. Just a thought. 

Aug 27, 19 7:56 pm
SpontaneousCombustion