Archinect
anchor

What can I do with my Architecture degree?

gekreg

Hi all,

So I graduated from Oxford Brookes University in the UK with a 1st class in July 2018, and have been working in a Part I placement since August 2018. I finish my placement in less than two weeks, and I'm a little confused as to what I should do next.

I really enjoyed studying architecture, especially the more conceptual, explorative and artistic side of things (getting to use my hands not a computer - although I did use adobe and 3d softwares), whether this was making models, producing drawings and art works to represent my conceptual ideas, using sculpture and photography to inform ideas.. you get the gist. I did enjoy the actual building of form and space part, but not so much the technical side. Which is why I haven't enjoyed my placement so much. My boss did however try to convice me with a payrise to stay on an extra year before returning for my Part II masters - I said I'd rather gain a broader experience elsewhere. A main reason for rejecting the offer was also the office, I don't get inspired by the work we do, and my colleagues are fairly closed minded in terms of design.
I've also dedicated a month or so to working on some of my own projects to glitz up my portfolio before applying to any masters courses; whilst also hopefully gaining me some recognition online using my website and social media.