Archinect
anchor

Trial by fire - building a house with no formal training

ryanyoung

I know I have a habit of verbosity, if you don't want to suffer my disquisition but still would like to help please jump to the numbered questions below. If you do want to read all the details I thank you for your time.

To preface, I'm 29 and have been working as an independent insurance adjuster for the past decade with a brief segway as an instructor at a vocational school. I'm a highschool drop-out and everything I've learned has been through apprenticeship, research, and helpful people. I don't like the term "self-taught" because, lets face it, we haven't taught ourselves anything since the colonial era. Hence my being here, I need information I haven't been able to find elsewhere.

I recently purchased property in Sedona, Arizona so I can build my first house. This is intended to be a retirement home for my parents and will later be my retirement home once they no longer need it. I'm building rather than buying for two reasons: I can't find a house that would meet my criteria and architecture is the career I'd like to move into for my later years. I know many of the concepts I detail below will be VERY costly, some may not make it into the final design but I'm aiming for quality over size so please don't lecture too much in that regard.

1) Where can I find an example of a custom concrete home blueprint?