Archinect
anchor

GRAD SCHOOL STRESS

wahoo2020
Hey everyone! I’ve got a question to my fellow architect. Currently I’m a student with a 3.2 gpa from the university of Virginia school of architecture. I was wondering how screwed I’ll be when it comes to applying to grad school in a year and a half when my gpa is slightly higher (maybe a 3.35 or something)? What do you guys think my chances are at a top school like Harvard GSD, YaleSOA, MIT, or UPenn? Also any advice for someone like me with no work/internship experience at a firm to better their chances?? What do you think my other options are?

Jul 24, 19 4:20 am
TED

Stay at Virg for MArch 2 year then do 1 year masters at top school 

Jul 24, 19 6:16 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

everyone and their dog wants to get I to the top schools and many of them have stellar grades. You’ll need a seriously bad-ass portfolio and refernce letters if you want to have a fighting chance in those schools. Extra important is that you’re unlikely to get merit scholarships so you’ll be paying sticker price and no march, regardless of the name, is worth 100ks price. 

Employers don’t care about grades. They care about production skills. Look for a reasonable school for cheap  instead of the bullshit dream schools everyone is so hot and heavy about. 

Jul 24, 19 7:17 am  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

I most certainly did. 1.25/10

Jul 24, 19 12:44 pm  · 
 · 
threeohdoor

No, it seems like someone has a job...

Jul 24, 19 12:45 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Ding ding ding... and not just a job, but a PA career.

Jul 24, 19 1:24 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

I went to a less-than-ivy grad school and I'm doing just fine. How about you keep your shitposts to yourself , alina?

Jul 24, 19 6:15 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

Nope.

Jul 24, 19 7:32 pm  · 
 · 
Spacerbot

This. Thanks. You sir are living in real world :)

Jul 24, 19 10:52 pm  · 
 · 
wahoo2020