Archinect
anchor

Any advice is appreciated (no work experience)

ordinaryhoneybee

Hi,

I got my bachelor's degree 2 years ago. After finishing my undergrad, I felt pretty incompetent about my skills because I really hated the school I was going, I wanted to be done with it as quickly as possible and with minimal effort.

I was very excited when starting to university about all the classes I was going to take. My goal was to be an all-round person, to discover myself and I was hoping that architecture would give me all the skills and space and the discipline (as I read that it was a very hard major) to then pursue whatever I want. So I didn't dream about being architect since I was a kid.

But, as I said, the experience I got was just, dull and boring. Hating the school, I managed to graduate without studying and working much. I chose this because I really want to, yet somehow it became work I didn't want to do.

After school I decided to revise some better projects I did, put together a decent portfolio. Because I thought that's what it took to get a job. That took me 1,5 years (the result is not that good either). I'm applying jobs since spring I think and nothing. I've only applied to firms that are looking for inexperienced people. I've also applied to grad school in hopes to get a better education and maybe create more opportunities. I enrolled to the city and regional planning department, considering I want to study urban design which will start this fall.

I think it would be more appropriate to apply for internships as I have zero work experience. I did my internships at local municipality and at a construction site. So no architecture firms. I will send my portfolio to the firms I like but I'm worried that I can't really bring anything to table for them.