Archinect
anchor

B Arch at 30

htdb

Hey I'm new here.  I've been working as conceptual designer/ estimator/ coordinator for a design build general contractor over the last 10 years. I've been drawing off of CAD and sketchup basically designing for owners, creating constuction concepts and getting things approved through Design review boards.

Recently I've considered going back to school and getting my B Arch. 

I'm 30 and I have no college experience. So I was looking for some insight on how to approach this and whether or not it's worth it.

Would love to be able to continue to work but I don't know how realistic that is

Thank you for your help

Jul 20, 19 10:51 am
midlander

it'll probably be overwhelming for you as someone with hard-set design habits. be prepared to struggle at first with unlearning some of the ways you work so that you can become more flexible as a designer. 

worth it? that depends why you want to do this and how much money you're giving up from your current job. it's probable your starting salary after graduating will be higher than a typical intern since you've already got strong office drafting skills. but it might not be a big jump over what you make now until you're nearly 40.

Jul 20, 19 12:43 pm  · 
 · 
justavisual

You're better off just trying to get hired somewhere in an architectural office with those skills rather than forking over a ton of money on school for not much gain...unless you really want to learn 'design' as such as well as history etc etc.  I will say that many of the older students we had with us burnt out and never made it / felt out of place...I don't think its easy to do when the rest of your class is between 18-20something. 

Jul 21, 19 3:07 pm  · 
 · 
robhaw

I am 28 and will begin my Masters in the Netherlands in September. (See the thread where we discussed this option). Feeling out of place I kind of get but burning out really depends on your work ethic.

Jul 21, 19 6:41 pm  · 
 · 
justavisual