Archinect
anchor

carpenter with bachelor of architecture going back to get an March.

davelambert

I have been a carpenter since my early 20's, but went back to university to get a bachelor of architecture, graduating at 31. In the last semester of school some catastrophic events in my personal/ family life put my chosen path on hold to some extent, but I am now getting back into design. I work in the film industry building sets, and when I get the chance, designing them. My question is, is it worth going back to do an March. program? The big question for me is about the age. I am currently 35, and curious if anyone has insight or opinion about taking an March. as an older student, but with interest and experience in design. Is there a chance at success at my age in the conventional field of architecture aside from the odd stint in film? 

cheers 

Jul 3, 19 2:20 am
archinet

Cannot see why not. As long as you were working in an adjacent field during your time away from your studies and needed the money, I think it is ok. If I were an employer looking at your CV I would not hold it against you, you were working so it shows you are not lazy. Many women have to take time off because of maternity leave, or some people work freelance doing rendering and get back to a traditional office. I think one thing that might be a worry is do you want to pay to do the Masters? And then once you do graduate you will most likely earn very little as all recent graduates do. 

Jul 3, 19 5:26 am  · 
 · 
( o Y o )

For all practical purposes that ship has sailed. By the time you're done you'll be competing with 20 year-olds for employment. Aside from the fact that there is much more demand for people who actually do something than there is for architects.