Archinect
anchor

Should prospective fresh-graduate redesign uni-projects for portfolio?

alisaveroharahap

Hey all!

Im a bachelor student who hopefully will finish my study next semester. 

Should we, as prospective fresh-graduate architecture students redesign uni projects that we think don't reflect our skills and knowledge anymore for our portfolio? 

I mean, I don't mind doing that but im just not sure whether architectural firms wanted to see our current skills and knowledge about the field or the learning process throughout our study. 

Jun 23, 19 2:18 pm
Fivescore

It depends.  Usually it's unnecessary to redo academic projects.  Even if you don't like a project overall it's still usually possible to select the best images and only include those.  Most employers aren't all that interested in exactly what the assignment was or in your whole story about how you met the requirements of an assignment - they're more interested in evaluating whether you have some basic skills that will be useful to them.  The images that you select should convey at least a project or two that demonstrate a thought process that leads to completion of something, and items that show good visual design abilities of various sorts, and some basic knowledge of construction and detailing.  Most grads have enough work to show those things without redoing anything - but this question comes up all the time, and it clearly makes some people feel more confidence about their portfolios if they "improve" some projects - so if you're someone who is going to feel very insecure about the quality of your work unless you reinvent it at this point, then it won't hurt anything to do that if you must.

Jun 23, 19 6:01 pm  · 
 · 
babyarchitect1