Archinect
anchor

How can I be licensed, whats the easiest way in my unique position?

Je11er

Hello everyone,

I want to start by saying I have a very strange background compared to probably a lot of people on here but I am trying to find answers. 

I didn't study architecture as an undergraduate student at Arizona State University, I studied politics because I got a scholarship by the US government to study a government related major. I wanted to study architecture but free tuition was more important for me and my family.

While in school and ever since I have self-studied architecture and structure through countless books and I am even (I would say) a master with AutoCAD, 3DsMax, Vray, Rhino 3D, and Revit.

Here is were it gets weird. 

I moved to Tokyo Japan in 2013 to teach English, on the side found myself getting clients freelance for architectural design. I built a pretty extension portfolio, and applied for a Master`s degree of engineering in Architectural and Urban Design at one of a Tokyo`s top Universities, took the entrance exam, and was accepted. I say this not to brag, but to let you know it is a very legitimate school as we even did workshops with USC and Harvard GSD. My university is recognized for a licenses in all Asia, Australia, and parts of Eurpose, but not the NCARB in the USA. 

During school and after I graduated I have worked and completed projects for Kengo Kuma, and now am working at a large corporate Japanese firm called Kume Sekkei with more than 500 employees. I been working in Japan for almost 3 years professional, and I have been thinking I want to move back to the USA someday, but I am not sure how to get my licenses there to start my own firm (starting my own architecture firm is my long term goal). 

So with my weird background, I am not sure how to proceed to make my dream come true. If you have any advice or recommendations how to get a license in the US with this situation I would really really appreciate it.