Archinect
anchor

Need advice regarding transitioning back to architecture after 8 years...

hl88

Hi,

I'm looking for some advice on transitioning back to this profession.  I have a Bachelor of Architectural Science degree and done a few internships during my time in school. However, that was over 8 years ago.  I had to return home to Malaysia immediately upon graduation to take care of family (business, property etc).  My initial plan was to return in 2 years to pursue my masters but due to circumstances, its taken me 8 years to get back to Canada.  This time I've moved here permanently with my family. We've sold our home, property and business back home.

Though I haven't worked in this field for the past 8 years, I've always wanted to transition back to this profession, obtain my masters and pursue a license eventually.  

I would like any advice on how to go about it.  Should I go seek employment for a year or two first before trying to apply for Masters?  I assume it will be difficult to get accepted into master's since admission officers will be wondering about my 8 year break and I don't have any references from employees etc?  How will employees look at my 8 year break? What should I show potential employees in my portfolio (work from undergrad, or should I work on new projects/competitions etc)?  

I'm in no rush and in it for the long haul, but not getting younger as I'm in my mid 30's now. 

Thanks and appreciate any advice. 

Jun 12, 19 11:55 pm
randomised

People only wonder about an 8 year break if no explanation has been given, what’s wrong with telling the truth?

Jun 13, 19 7:57 am  · 
 · 
GridBubbles