Archinect
anchor

PHD? Another Master? LIFE DECISION

FILSON

I graduated architecture last year, there's no jobs opportunities in my country and as I don't have an EU or US citizenship i cant work abroad ( and its Pretty impossible to get hired abroad i applied and no answer ).

for this reason i applied for masters in Urban planning in my country i passed the entrance exam i still have one year left ( or 2 depending on how i choose to continue research or practice)

My dream is to work in a small design firm ( i think in small firms you'll have the opportunity to design and have an opinion). but that's not possible without a citizenship.

I have three options to make:

1- I have an Opportunity to continue a PHD abroad as i have connection in a Lab in France: for many people PHD is not a good choice unless you want to teach. but i was writing a paper on the potential research. its about the ambiance of a space reconstructed after civil war. I do shortfilms and photoshoots and voice recording of the space. and i think this experience really built up my architecture sensibility and skills. most of the research is site work, not paper and writing work. ( in this way i can also get the citizenship and apply for par time jobs while I'm studying if possible. and i can work there when I'm done with my PHD. 

2-I could apply for masters after i finish my Urban planning and try to apply to a job in the country where I'm studying, hoping to stay and live there.

3- leave my current masters, and apply from now to another masters abroad.

what choice you think i should make, how was your life experience  till now.

PS: i don't have work experience till now i started my Urban masters after architecture school